• Dulture
  • Posts
  • Twitter has an HR department??

Twitter has an HR department??

What did Elon do this time...

When you apply to a job, how much of you stays the same versus how much of you changes? Meaning, what do you lie about on your resume? C’mon, we’ve all done it before! See, it’s a bit of a strategy because YOU DON’T WANT TO GET CAUGHT. So as you’re updating your resume, filling out the application, and going through the nonsense of applying, in the back of your mind you have to think, who exactly is this all being sent to?

But, not only do you have to be strategic about how you lie in your resume, you also have to be strategic about what the HR person is going to be thinking as they read it. OR better yet - what if there is no HR person or HR department at all? Now it’s a battle of whether or not the application even gets read at all.

This week we got a glimpse into what HR at Twitter is like where it really isn’t quite certain that there’s an HR department to read resumes, let alone decipher whether an employee still works at the company or not. I’m not quite sure how one does not know whether they work for a company or not anymore but I get a lot of Milton vibes reading the thread below:

Elon later apologized for being…well, Elon

This week's issue is a 3 minute read:

🏀 The stupidity that is Ja Morant

🎵 DJ Spotify

🍫 MrBeast & his disciples

What the heck is wrong with this guy?

Not Ja Morant but definitely my reaction!

OK - so I realize some of you might not be basketball fans or care to read anything to do with basketball but this story takes the cake, you have to read this one!

Let me set the stage for you. So, Ja Morant is probably one of the most popular NBA stars the league has had in a long time. During the playoffs in 2022 the entire league was fixated on him. If you watch him play, chances are there will be at least one “Holy Sh*t” moment - this guy is that exciting to watch.

Ja Morant is so good that he recently unveiled his signature shoe with Nike - you know, the biggest sportswear brand to ever exist that stands for all that is right in the world (let’s ignore the factories in China for the sake of my argument here 🙃). And let’s set the record straight, you don’t just get a signature shoe at Nike - right Kanye?

Nike: Guns are okay with us

Well this past week Ja went on Instagram Live at a strip club and flashed a gun to all of his followers. Why did he do this? For me it’s the same answer when my wife asks me if I’ve got plans on October 17, 2024 - I have no bloody clue. It gets better though! Apparently this all happened in a club in Denver which means if he brought that gun with him to the club then he might have brought it on the team plane which would be an immediate 50 game suspension. Dude has barely been able to break in his new Nikes and it’s looking like he could be suspended for the rest of the season. Face Palm.

Hey Mr. DJ this is NOT my song

If you use Spotify Premium you might have noticed a new feature they released not too long ago that acts like your own personal radio DJ called, well, DJ. This AI powered feature is supposed to take in all of the music you listen to and then speak to you with pre-canned messages that make it sound like a radio show for your own music.

As a music and technology lover, I was super stoked to try this out. After all, Spotify tends to do a good job with presenting your own personal analytics for what you listened to at the end of the year. DJ, like Black Adam, was pretty disappointing ←see what I did there??

I found myself skipping every track over and over again

The DJ is supposed to have some level of machine learning in it to pump out music that either you listen to a lot or is similar to your musical tastes. And then they throw in editors picks and things to mix it up so it feels like an actual radio station. HOWEVER, I kept getting dirty south rap, which technically I listened to a lot in 2006? I also kept getting J-Pop, which I have never listened to before, so no clue where that came from!

I just opened the DJ as I’m writing this to see if I should make any edits here. It began with “Here are some artists you’ve been listening to a lot of lately” and proceeds to play more (surprise surprise) dirty south rap. Did 2005 Lil Wayne hack this or…?

Don’t get me wrong, this DJ thing is a great concept but maybe listening to the Frozen, Encanto, and Tangled soundtracks over and over through the years have now screwed up my Spotify algorithm for good and thus DJ will never really be able to deliver the goods ← I did it again!

MrBeast wants you to clean up Walmart

No, for real. Jimmy Donaldson, aka MrBeast, aka the biggest YouTuber in the world would like you to help him fix his Feastable bar displays in Walmart as they tend (I guess?) to get messy. And the internet reacted, as it normally does, in mixed fashion.

On the one hand you have a pretty decent sized brand asking the customer to help them out for free and on the other hand you have a pretty decent sized brand asking the customer to help them out for FREE. My question is, isn’t this the Walmart associate’s job? And Feastibles have been in Walmarts for long enough that shouldn’t there be a rep on the Feastible side managing this?

Controversial thoughts and opinions aside, I love that MrBeast has this following that will happily do good on his behalf. Can the same thing be said about any other brand out there right now?

All that sour cream and onion