Are Psychics For Real?

Some negative MrBeast news for a change

I went to a psychic twice in my life and both times it was the same one.

And each time she gave me a completely different reading, sort of.

The first time I saw her I told her I was writing the LSAT and wanted to get into corporate law. She told me that was exactly what I was going to do in life, and I would earn a lot of money doing it. I remember going home beaming because a psychic knew exactly what I was going to do in life.

The second time I saw her she told me I would have my name in lights, be famous for writing (obviously), and I believe live abroad or travel more? I can’t exactly remember.

It was like she saw two different people each time I went.

I don’t know if I believe any of it. Frankly, if you work towards something long enough, you’ll end up seeing some form of result you’re looking for anyway. But if you’re curious about exploring the world of psychics, A24 just released the trailer for Look Into My Eyes, a documentary about psychics in New York. The film is an intimate look into the world of psychic readings and the people who experience them.

There’s a blurred line that the film explores around how real the experience really is. One of the psychics in the film is asked, “Do you ever doubt what you do? Do you ever wonder if it’s not real?” to which he responds chuckling, “Yeah, all the time!”

The film comes out September 6th in a limited release. All of the sudden I have the urge to get my tarot cards read - I need to know if you’re going to read on beyond this paragraph 🙃 

This week's issue is a 5 minute read:

📱 Apple’s careful intelligence

🏠️ 3D printed neighbourhoods

🏃 Beast Games is beasting people up

Apple has figured out AI

I’m not going to lie, sometimes when I’m telling ChatGPT or Perplexity to do something, I feel like I’m talking to my kids. Like, if I don’t give it the EXACT function, it gives me back some literal nonsense. I thought these AI models were supposed to read between the lines and understand the syntax and nuances in language to give you what you need.

As you’re all probably well aware, OpenAI’s AI is going to be embedded in the iPhone at some point later this year. It’s anticipated that “Apple Intelligence” will be available to iOS users at some point later this year. In an effort to avoid common big tech embarrassment of releasing a new AI product (I will forever be happy to share when Microsoft’s AI went rogue), Apple has been carefully giving Apple Intelligence specific instructions to ensure it doesn’t act “weird” and is actually helpful. See below.

Ain’t no one got the time to give ChatGPT such a long prompt every time

What they’re really trying to eliminate is the AI hallucination that I battle with a on a weekly basis. For instance I asked ChatGPT to give me some quotes on delegation this week and it confidently made them up and said real people said them. Then I asked it to fact check this and it said, oh these are just hypotheticals, “here is a set of actual quotes you can use”. And then I asked it to fact check those and it HALLUCINATED AGAIN saying that was all hypothetical as well.

Suffice to say we went in circles for a minute when I realized this thing was not going to give me anything real and just continue to lie to me. Apple has embedded very specific instructions in its code to ensure users don’t get hallucinated experiences like the one I got. Let’s see what happens when it starts telling my mom Batman is real and then she comes over for dinner to tell me Batman is out fighting crime now.

How about a 3D printed house?

So there’s these capsule houses made in China that constantly show up in my IG reels now, because I actually watch (and cringe while I enjoy) the reel. Here’s an example:

So we know we can buy these pre-fabricated houses in China, complete with the Chinese drama lore. But did you know you could just 3D print your own house?

In Georgetown, Texas, a giant robotic 3D printer called ICON has just finished the final houses for the Wolf Ranch community it started creating in 2022. A hundred houses have been 3D printed out of a mixture of concrete powder, water, sand, and other additives. A single story, 3 or 4 bedroom house takes 3 weeks to finish printing and then the metal roof is installed how a roof would be traditionally installed (not with a robot).

These houses range from $400K to about $600K, with a quarter of the homes printed already sold. The goal with the ICON printer is to bring it to the moon one day to 3D print a bunch of things people can use or live in.

So now, would you rather have a Space Capsule House from China or a 3D printed house from a robot?

What is going on with MrBeast?

When you see news about MrBeast it tends to be positive and uplifting. He just built schools. He just cured blindness in kids. He just became the biggest YouTuber in the world. He just signed a massive deal with Amazon to film his TV show, Beast Games. When you get as big as Jimmy Donaldson has become, there’s bound to be some hiccups along the way.

Back in March my wife sent me the application form to be on Beast Games, a Google doc that essentially asked would you be willing to risk potential harm to yourself to be on the show and compete for a large sum of money. Given the contestants in his current videos tend to sway towards only Americans, I declined to even waste my energy in filling out, what was a unsuspectingly lengthy application form.

And now I know why!

Because people are actually getting hurt on this show. Well, maybe hurt isn’t the right word but you be the judge. When filming started in July in the Allegiant Stadium in Nevada,

  • Contestants were forced to hand over their belongings, including their underwear and medication, and begin to live, eat, and sleep inside the stadium floors.

  • Contestants who were menstruating were told it wasn’t a medical emergency and therefore couldn’t get their underwear back

  • Upon the beginning of one of the events where teams would compete in pulling ropes attached to 10,000 lb weights, contestants described it as a mad dash of pushing and shoving, people hyperventilating, and the men trying to ensure they were all on the same team.

  • One contestant left the show injured and was handed a $1000 stack of dollar bills on screen and then told to give it back off screen, they would subsequently be paid later on, which still hasn’t happened.

  • And they’re being fed inconsistently according to reports

This all sounds like Fyre Festival, doesn’t it??

I’ve always wanted to be in a MrBeast video. Maybe that sounds childish, I don’t care. I think it would be fun to live in a bunker for 100 days and come out with a few hundred thousand dollars. Also, it sounds much more innocent than Beast Games. Then again, the show is not being filmed on YouTube so he doesn’t have to worry about algorithms or child filters to ensure the largest viewership possible. Let’s hope he doesn’t have to worry about people getting hurt and potential lawsuits and backlash as well.