• Dulture
  • Posts
  • The NBA's First Father Son Duo (ugh...)

The NBA's First Father Son Duo (ugh...)

New Hot Dog Champ Will Be Crowned

When I graduated university I had no idea what I was going to do next.  I spent my days working the part-time job I had since high school and skateboarding at a local skatepark while everyone was either at school or at work. My dad had retired from his corporate job, battled and beat cancer, and wanted to go back to work doing something part-time to keep him busy.

One day he tells me I have a job interview, to make sure I have a suit and tie ready, and that I’m going to drive us. Drive US…where? He had secured an interview at a local car dealership. And he was applying for the same job, at the same time too. 

I was going to compete against my dad for the same job

So anyway, other than the fact that I had “an interview", I had absolutely no clue what job I was actually applying for.

My dad and I show up in our oversized suits to the dealership and sit at some guy’s desk, together. We wait, I whisper to him asking who we’re going to meet and then the stereotypical, golf shirt wearing, middle-aged car guy sits down in front of us. He proceeds to introduce himself, introduce the dealership, how they work, and all the bells and whistles that go into selling cars.

He then asks me what I know about cars. Nothing. I knew how to bullsh*t my way through an answer about knowing about cars, that’s what I knew. My dad chimes in and rambles on about what he knows and why we would work well together. And the golf shirt man starts to nod. Actually, having a father son duo here would work really well, having a younger guy to talk to all the younger customers and an older seasoned guy to talk to the car enthusiasts. 

We took his card and he told us to call him if we would like to come back and try it out. WE NEVER CALLED HIM BACK.

And just like how my dad got my interview at the car dealership, Bronny James was drafted by the LA Lakers yesterday meaning the NBA will see their first father son duo to play together in the league ever. Bronny averaged 4 pts per game in the one college season he had. So yeah, he uh…deserved…to be drafted into the NBA. Thanks DAD.

🤦 

This week's issue is a 4 minute read:

🐶 Fugly Doggos

🌭 Mr Hot Dog is out this year

🇨🇦 Some Canada facts

Ugly Dogs… On Purpose

Last week the world’s ugliest dog of 2024 was crowned.  A pekingese dog by the name of Wild Thang took the prize for the ugliest dog in the world.  Running now for 50 years, the competition’s purpose is to shed light on pets of all shapes and sizes and remind us that no matter what they look like, they’re all lovable.  

Look at that tongue!

My whole thing is, yes, we should love our pets.  But we should also take care of them and not let them turn out to look like a haggard mess, no?  Am I the only one who thinks they could’ve just given the dog a haircut and he’d look pretty normal, outside of the tongue hanging out?  Here were some of the other participants in the competition.

Yeah, he sure looks like he wants to be there - get this dog a bath and a groomer.

In looking at that participants of this competition, all of the poor dogs looked like they were drugged up.

Like really drugged up…

These dogs became celebrities for their looks, so basically not that different from the stars of “Jersey Shore” if you think about it. Ba dum dum ching!

2024 Hotdog Title Up For Grabs

When I say the name “Joey Chestnut” what comes to mind? If you just got a weird urge to eat a hotdog then you’ve definitely seen this guy compete. In a shocking turn of events, the 16 time Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Competition has been banned from this year’s 4th of July hot dog face stuffing event. Chestnut, who was paid $200,000 just to show up to last year’s event, could not reach an agreement with Nathan’s over his newfound partnership with vegan meat maker, Impossible Foods.

There will be a new hot dog winner in the annual competitive eating competition.

With Chestnut out, this opens the field wide open for the competition. Chestnut has traditionally dominated the Independence Day event where you’re not watching to see IF he’ll win but rather, HOW MUCH will he actually eat. With Chestnut out of the competition, my bet is that this will be one of the most exciting competitive eating competitions you’ll ever watch.

I’m assuming you like watching grown men dip hot dogs in water and then proceed to stuff them into their mouth in one bite. Is it just me?

Meanwhile on Labour Day, Chestnut will face off against his Japanese rival, Takeru Kobayashi in a live hotdog eating rematch from years ago on Netflix.

Canada Day Is Coming Too

You’d think I’d start this week’s issue off about the birthday of my country, given we are set to celebrate it on Monday. But nah - like most Canadians, I’m kinda just waiting for the election in October 2025. So it’s all kinda meh to me. But that’s as political as I’ll ever get in this newsletter.

July 1st will mark Canada’s 157th birthday, which is super young if comparing the country to the likes of China, Japan, and Egypt, who were all were established thousands of years ago.

For my non-Canadian readers, Canada Day is typically seen as a day to just get together with friends and family and have some sort of relaxing meal together, usually a bbq. And then we all try to find fireworks, eventually don’t find any, and then go to bed, only to be woken up by kids doing fireworks at 1AM - all of which my Canadian readers are all too familiar with.

However, there’s this whole other side of Canada that I don’t think any of you knew about.

For instance, I bet you didn’t know Canada has the world’s largest underground shopping complex. Yup, thats right - the PATH in downtown Toronto, spanning 30KM across the city is home to a never ending maze of confusion, random urine smells, and of course, shopping.

Canada is also home to the world’s largest axe - which I can proudly say I’ve been to.

The thing was huge

The name Canada came from a misunderstanding from French explorer Jacques Cartier, who misunderstood the Iroquoian word for village, Kanata, as the word for the entire country. Makes you wonder, if he wasn’t mistaken, what would he have called the country?